Massachusetts:

Massachusetts Child Labor Laws Massachusetts Child Labor Laws 2019

Child labor laws on Massachusetts and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details Massachusetts' child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in Massachusetts

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are mandatory in Massachusetts for minors under 18. The certificate must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their ability to work before they are hired.

Acquiring a Massachusetts Employment Certificate:

In Massachusetts, minors can obtain an Employment Certificate both through the Massachusetts Department of Labor and through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator. An Employment Certificate will be issued if the minor meets all of the state's criteria for employment.


Age Certification in Massachusetts

Age certification is a process through which minors provide proof of their age to a prospective employer, which helps ensure that all child labor laws mandated for their age bracket are followed.

Age certification is mandatory for employment in Massachusetts for minors under 18 as part of employment certificate. Proper proof-of-age documentation must be must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their age before they are hired.

Acquiring an Age Certificate in Massachusetts:

In Massachusetts, minors can obtain age certification both through the Massachusetts Department of Labor and through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator.

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in Massachusetts

Minors who are authorized to work in Massachusetts are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

Maximum hours when school is in session:
18 hours a week
3 hours a day on school days
8 hours a day Saturday, Sunday, holidays
6 days a week

Maximum hours when school is not in session:
40 hours a week
8 hours a day
6 days a week

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Maximum hours of work for minors, whether or not school is in session, are 48 hours a week, 9 hours per day, up to 6 days a week.


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: Only between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. during the school year. Only between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. during the summer (from July 1 through Labor Day). After 8:00 p.m., all minors must have the direct and immediate supervision of an adult supervisor who is located in the workplace and is reasonably accessible to the minor, unless the minor works at a kiosk, cart or stand in the common area of an enclosed shopping mall that has security from 8:00 p.m.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Work is prohibited during these hours: Only between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. (on nights preceding a regularly scheduled school day) - if the establishment stops serving clients or customers at 10:00 p.m., the minor may be employed until 10:15 p.m. Only between 6 a.m. and 11:30 p.m. (on nights not preceding a regularly scheduled school day). Exception for restaurants and racetracks: only between 6 a.m. and 12:00 midnight (on nights not preceding a regularly scheduled school day). After 8:00 p.m., all minors must have the direct and immediate supervision of an adult supervisor who is located in the workplace and is reasonably accessible to the minor, unless the minor works at a kiosk, cart or stand in the common area of an enclosed shopping mall that has security from 8:00 p.m. until the mall is closed to the public.

Special Child Labor Laws in Massachusetts

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in Massachusetts, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get a Massachusetts all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Massachusetts and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Massachusetts and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for September 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to Massachusetts Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/massachusetts/child-labor-laws