Michigan:

Michigan Child Labor Laws Michigan Child Labor Laws 2020

Child labor laws on Michigan and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details Michigan's child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in Michigan

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are mandatory in Michigan for minors under 18. The certificate must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their ability to work before they are hired.

In Michigan, there are several scenarios in which a minor does not require a work permit. A work permit is not required for a minor 16 years or older who has completed the requirements for high school graduation or has obtained a high school equivalency certificate and provided copy of certification to the employer.

A work permit is not required for a 17 year old minor who has passed the general education development (GED) test and provided copy of certification to the employer. Certification is now issued by the MDE (Michigan Department of Education).

Acquiring a Michigan Employment Certificate:

In Michigan, minors can obtain an Employment Certificate through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator. An Employment Certificate will be issued if the minor meets all of the state's criteria for employment.


Age Certification in Michigan

Age certification is a process through which minors provide proof of their age to a prospective employer, which helps ensure that all child labor laws mandated for their age bracket are followed.

Age certification is mandatory for employment in Michigan for minors under 18. Proper proof-of-age documentation must be must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their age before they are hired.

Acquiring an Age Certificate in Michigan:

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in Michigan

Minors who are authorized to work in Michigan are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

8 hours of work per day and 48 per week are permitted during a schoolweek. The 48 hours include combined hours of work and school (work is permitted outside of school hours, no earlier than 3:00 pm, Monday - Friday).

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

10 hours of work per day, 48 per week, up to 6 days per week are permitted when school is not in session. During the schoolweek, up to 24 hours may be worked.

Notes: A minor under 16 years shall not be employed in an occupation subject to this act for longer than a weekly average of 8 hours per day. Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. ? 409.110. Administered by Michigan Department of Education.


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 9 p.m. to 7 a.m

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 10:30 p.m. (11:30 p.m. on Fridays, Saturdays and during school vacations) to 6 a.m., if attending school. 11:30 p.m. to 6 a.m., if not attending school.

Special Child Labor Laws in Michigan

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in Michigan, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get a Michigan all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Michigan and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Michigan and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for September 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to Michigan Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/michigan/child-labor-laws