Michigan Child Labor in Agriculture & Farming
Child labor laws on Michigan and Federal levels have special provisions that apply to minors working in the agricultural industry, including working as farm hands, harvesting fruit or vegetables, etc. In many states, agricultural child labor laws focus on safety and tend to be less restrictive in terms of working hours than general child labor regulations.
In most cases, agricultural child labor laws do not apply to children working on their family's farm. Many traditionally agricultural states have less restrictive child labor laws in this area.
Michigan exempts agricultural labor from child labor laws except for operations involving detasseling, roguing, hoeing, or similar in production of seed.
Michigan Agricultural Child Labor Age RestrictionsAccording to Michigan state law, the minimum age at which a minor may work in agriculture during school hours is 16. The minimum age at which a minor may work in agriculture outside of school hours is 13.
Minor Employment Certificate Requirements in MichiganAn employment certificate is required by Michigan state law for minors working in agriculture under the age of 18. Age certification is required for minors working in agriculture who are under the age of 18.
Michigan Agricultural Child Labor Restrictions on Working Hours
Maximum Working Hours for Minors Under 16
For minors under 16 years old, a maximum of 10 hours per day / 48 per week may be worked (if in school, no more than a combined school and work week of 48 hours), with no more than a weekly average of 8 hours a day.
For minors from 16 to 18 years old, a maximum of 10 hours per day / 48 hours per week may be worked (if in school, no more than 24 hours in one week), with no more than a weekly average of 8 hours a day.
If working in farming, 11 hours per day and 62 per week may be worked with consent of the minor and a parent or guardian, provided the minor is not employed between the hours of 2 a.m. and 5:30 a.m.
Michigan specifies the following as the maximum days per week in which a minor under 16 can perform agricultural work: If under 18 years old, 6 days per week may be worked.
Nightwork Regulations for Minors Under 16
Nightwork is prohibited for minors under age 16 during the following time windows: 9 p.m. to 7 a.m., 10:30 p.m. (11:30 p.m. on Fridays, Saturdays and during school vacation periods) to 6 a.m., 16 and 17 if attending school, 11:30 p.m. to 6 a.m., for ages 16 and 17 if not attending school
Prohibited Hazardous Agricultural Occupations for Minors
Michigan has no specific agriculture hazardous occupations. Those of general application for workers under 18 are considered as covering agriculture where applicable (like working with power-driven machinery).
Other Michigan Child Labor Laws
In addition to laws specifically regulating minors employed in the agricultural industry, Michigan law has a variety of regulations that cover child labor in general. To learn more, see Michigan child labor laws.