Pennsylvania:

Pennsylvania Unpaid Overtime Claiming Unpaid Overtime Wages in Pennsylvania

Hourly Overtime Minimum Wage
$10.88 / hour
Daily Overtime Limit1
N/A
Weekly Overtime Limit2
40 hours / week


Am I eligible to collect unpaid overtime from my employer?

The Pennsylvania overtime minimum wage is $10.88 per hour, one and a half times the regular minimum wage of $7.25. If you earn more then the Pennsylvania minimum wage rate of $7.25, you are entitled to at least 1.5 times your regular hourly wage for all overtime worked.

If your employer has failed to pay you a proper overtime wage for any amount of qualifying overtime worked, you are eligible to receive back wages and possibly additional damages from your employer.

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) explicitly protects Pennsylvania workers who file an overtime complaint from being penalized by their employer for filing the complaint with threats, suspension, or firing. The statute of limitations for filing an overtime claim is two years, although this is increased to three years in the case that your employer willfully and knowingly broke the law in failing to compensate you for overtime worked.

How can I collect back wages if my employer owes me overtime?

After checking to ensure that your job is not exempt from overtime under Pennsylvania law, the next step to take in filing an unpaid overtime claim is submitting an official complaint including all pertinent information to your local Department of Labor office. If the Pennsylvania Department of Labor cannot solve your overtime case, you can file a civil claim with the Pennsylvania state court system by levying an unpaid overtime lawsuit against your employer.

Pennsylvania Overtime Lawsuits Contacting the Department of Labor in Pennsylvania Regarding Unpaid Overtime

If you believe you are owed unpaid overtime, or think your employer is not complying with other labor laws, your first point of contact is your local field office of the Federal Department of Labor. There are three field offices located in Pennsylvania.

Contact the office nearest to you, and they will be able to advise you of your legal rights and your next steps. You may want to have your employer's information and any relevant paystubs available. Remember, it is illegal for your employer to punish you for speaking to the Department of Labor! You can find contact information for the Pennsylvania Department of Labor here.


Philadelphia District Office

US Dept. of Labor Wage & Hour Division 1617 John F Kennedy Blvd, Suite 1780 Philadelphia, PA 19103

Jim Cain, District Director

P: (215) 597-4950

Pittsburgh District Office

US Dept. of Labor Wage & Hour Division Federal Building 1000 Liberty Ave., Suite 1416 Pittsburgh, PA 15222

John DuMont, District Director

P: (412) 395-4996

Wilkes Barre District Office

US Dept. of Labor Wage & Hour Division 7 North Wilkes Barre Blvd. Stegmaier Bldg. Suite 373M Wilkes Barre, PA 18702-5284

Alfonso J. Gristina, District Director

P: (570) 826-6316


Pennsylvania Min Wage - $7.25 per hour as of 2019


** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/pennsylvania/unpaid-overtime