Texas:

Texas Child Labor Laws Texas Child Labor Laws 2019

Child labor laws on Texas and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details Texas' child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in Texas

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are not required in order for minors to work under Texas law. Employers are still responsible for ensuring that they comply with all Texas child labor restrictions and regulations.


Age Certification in Texas

Age certification is a process through which minors provide proof of their age to a prospective employer, which helps ensure that all child labor laws mandated for their age bracket are followed.

Age certification is not required in Texas, but an age certificate is required by law to be provided on request for minors under 18.

Acquiring an Age Certificate in Texas:

In Texas, minors can obtain age certification both through the Texas Department of Labor and through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator.

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in Texas

Minors who are authorized to work in Texas are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

Up to 8 hours of work per day, 48 hours per week

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Texas has no restrictions on maximum working hours for minors aged 16 and 17.


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 10 p.m. (midnight before non-school day or in summer if not enrolled in summer school) to 5 a.m.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Texas has no restrictions on nightwork for minors aged 16 and 17.

Special Child Labor Laws in Texas

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in Texas, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get a Texas all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Texas and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Texas and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for May 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to Texas Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/texas/child-labor-laws