Washington:

Washington Printable Free General Labor Law Poster Posters Your Rights as a Worker in Washington State Poster Mandatory

The Your Rights as a Worker in Washington State is a Washington general labor law poster poster provided for businesses by the Washington Department Of Labor & Industries. This is a required poster for all Washington employers, and any business that fails to post this notification may be subject to penalties or fines.

This poster discusses the State of Washington's rules and regulations concerning worker rights. Employers are required by State law to post notice of these rules in a conspicuous area in the workplace.

The poster goes on to declare that employees have several rights under the law. More specifically, all employees have specific sets of rights in relation to wages, hours, and leave.

Minors working in the state have even more rights enumerated under the law. The poster encourages anyone in need of more information concerning these rules or regulations to contact the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries.

It appears you don't have a PDF plugin for this browser. Please see the link below to download washington-700-074-909.pdf.

Your Rights as a Worker	
 It’s the law!	
 Employers must post this notice where employees can read it.
Wage and Overtime Laws
Workers must be paid the Washington minimum wage
Need to know the 	 	
current minimum wage?
See “Contact L &I” below.	
 ƒ	Most workers who are 16 years of age or older 
must be paid at least the minimum wage for 
all hours worked.
 ƒ	Workers who are 14 or 15 may be paid 85% of 
the minimum wage.	
Tips cannot be counted as part of the minimum wage.	
Overtime pay is due when working more than 40 hours
Most workers must be paid one and one-half times their regular rate 
of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a fixed seven-day workweek. 
Agricultural workers are generally exempt from overtime.
Workers Need Meal and Rest Breaks
Meal period
Most workers are entitled to a 30-minute unpaid meal period if working 
more than five hours in a day. If you must remain on duty during your 
meal period, you must be paid for the 30 minutes. 
Breaks
 ƒ	Most workers are entitled to a 10-minute paid rest break for each four 
hours worked and must not work more than three hours without a break.
 ƒ	Agricultural workers must have a 10-minute paid rest break within 
each four-hour period of work.
 ƒ	If you are under 18, see Teen Corner below.	
Regular Payday
Workers must be paid at least once a month on a regularly scheduled 
payday. Your employer must give you a pay statement showing the 
number of hours worked, rate of pay, number of piece work units (if piece 
work), gross pay, the pay period and all deductions taken.
For more information regarding authorized deductions, go to 
www.Lni.wa.gov/WorkplaceRights	 and click on “Pay Requirements.”	
Leave Laws
Paid sick leave (effective January 1, 2018)
Most workers earn a minimum of one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 
hours worked. This leave may be used beginning on the 90th calendar day of 
employment. Employers must provide employees with a statement that includes 
their accrued, used and available hours of this leave at least once per month. 
This information may be provided on your regular pay statement or a separate 
notification. Workers must be allowed to carry over a minimum of 40 hours of 
this unused leave to the following year. See 	www.Lni.wa.gov/SickLeave	 for 	
details on authorized usage, accrual details and eligibility.
Washington Family Care Act: Use of paid leave to care for sick family
Employees are entitled to use their choice of any employer provided paid 
leave (sick, vacation, certain short-term disability plans, or other paid time 
off) to care for:
 ƒ	A child with a health condition requiring treatment or supervision;
 ƒ	A spouse, parent, parent-in-law, or grandparent with a serious health 
condition or an emergency health condition; and
 ƒ	Children 18 years and older with disabilities that make them incapable 
of self-care.	
Washington Family Leave Act
This act provides additional leave for pregnancy and childbirth. It covers 
employers with 50 or more employees. Employees must have worked 
for an employer at least 1,250 hours in the previous 12 months to be 
eligible. For more information regarding qualifications and benefits, see 
www.Lni.wa.gov/WorkplaceRights/LeaveBenefits	 .	
Pregnancy disability leave is covered under the Washington State Law 
Against Discrimination (WLAD) and enforced by the Washington State 
Human Rights Commission: 	www.hum.wa.gov	 or 1-800-233-3247.	
Eligible employees can enforce their right to protected family and medical 
leave under FMLA by contacting the U.S. Department of Labor at: 
www.dol.gov/whd /fmla	 or 1-866-487-9243.	
Leave for victims of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking
Victims and their family members are allowed to take reasonable leave 
from work for legal or law enforcement assistance, medical treatment, 
counseling, relocation, meetings with their crime victim advocate, or to 
protect their safety.
Leave for military spouses during deployment
Spouses or registered domestic partners of military personnel who receive 
notice to deploy or who are on leave from deployment during times of 
military conflict may take a total of 15 days unpaid leave per deployment.
Your employer may not fire or retaliate against you for exercising your rights 
under, or filing a complaint alleging violations of, the Minimum Wage Act 
which does include paid sick leave or any of the protected leave laws.	
Teen Corner – 	Information for Workers Ages 14 –17	
 ƒ	The minimum age for work is generally 14, with dif ferent rules for ages 
14 –15 and for ages 16 –17.
 ƒ	Employers must have a minor work permit to employ teens. This 
requirement applies to family members except on family farms.
 ƒ	Teens do not need a work permit; however parents must sign the Parent 
Authorization form for summer employment. If you work during the school year, 
a parent and a school of ficial must sign the Parent /School Authorization form.
 ƒ	Many jobs are not allowed for anyone under 18 because they are not safe.
 ƒ	Work hours are limited for teens, with more restrictions on work hours 
during school weeks.	
Meal and rest breaks for teens
 ƒ	In agricultural work, teens of any age get a meal period of 30 minutes if working 
more than five hours, and a 10-minute paid break for each four hours worked.
 ƒ	In all other industries, teens who are 16 or 17 must have a 30-minute meal 
period if working more than five hours, and a 10-minute paid break for each 
four hours worked. They must have the rest break at least every three hours.
 ƒ	Teens who are 14 or 15 must have a 30-minute meal period no later than the 
end of the four th hour, and a 10-minute paid break for every t wo hours worked.	
To find out more about teens in the workplace:
 ƒ	Go to 	www.Lni.wa.gov/ TeenWorkers	 .	
 ƒ	Call toll-free: 1-866-219-7321.
 ƒ	Email a question to TeenSafet [email protected]  .	
Contact L&I
Need more information? 	 	
Questions about filing a worker rights complaint?
 Online:  	www.Lni.wa.gov/ WorkplaceRights	 	
  Call:  1-866-219-7321, toll-free	 	
 Visit: 	www.Lni.wa.gov/Offices	 	
 Email:  [email protected]
About required workplace posters
Go to 	www.Lni.wa.gov/RequiredPosters	 to learn more about workplace 	
posters from L&I and other government agencies.	
Human trafficking is against the law
For victim assistance, call the National Human Traf ficking Resource Center 	 	
at 1-888-373-7888, or the Washington State Of fice of Crime Victims Advocacy 	 	
at 1-800-822-1067.	
PUBLICATION F 70 0-074 -9 0 9  [0 8-2017]	
Upon request, foreign language support and formats for persons with disabilities are available. 
Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, call 360-902-5797. L&I is an equal opportunity employer.	
Contact L&I	
Teen Corner – 	Information for Workers Ages 14 –17	
Need to know the 	 	
current minimum wage?	
Scan QR code 
at lef t or see 
“Contact L &I” 
below.	
Your Rights as a Worker

Sus derechos como trabajador	
 ¡Es la ley!	 	Los empleadores deben publicar este aviso 	 	
donde los trabajadores puedan leerlo.	
Leyes para salario y horas extras
Los trabajadores deben recibir el salario mínimo de Washington
¿Necesita saber cuál es el 
salario mínimo actual?
Consulte la sección 
“Comuníquese a L &I” más 
adelante.	
 ƒ	La mayoría de los trabajadores que tengan 16 
años de edad o más deben recibir al menos el 
salario mínimo para todas las horas trabajadas.
 ƒ	Los trabajadores de 14 o 15 años de edad 
pueden recibir el 85 % del salario mínimo.
Las propinas no pueden contarse como parte 	 	
del salario mínimo.	
Deben pagarse las horas extra cuando se trabaje más de 40 horas
La mayoría de los trabajadores deben recibir una vez y media el pago regular por 
todas las horas trabajadas que superen las 40 horas en una semana fija de trabajo de 
siete días. Generalmente, los trabajadores agrícolas están exentos de las horas extras.
Los trabajadores necesitan descansos para 
comer y descansos laborales
Descanso para comer
La mayoría de los trabajadores tienen derecho a un descanso para comer no pagado 
de 30 minutos si trabajan más de cinco horas por día. Si debe permanecer en sus 
tareas durante el descanso para comer, debe recibir el pago por esos 30 minutos.
Descansos laborales
 ƒ	La mayoría de los trabajadores tienen derecho a un descanso pagado de 10 minutos 
por cada cuatro horas trabajadas y no deben trabajar más de tres horas sin descanso.
 ƒ	Los trabajadores agrícolas deben tener un descanso pagado de 10 minutos 
entre cada periodo de cuatro horas trabajadas.
 ƒ	Si tiene menos de 18 años, vea la sección Esquina de adolescentes más adelante.	
Día de pago regular
Los trabajadores deben recibir su pago al menos una vez al mes en un día de 
pago programado de manera regular. Su empleador debe darle un recibo de 
pago que muestre el número de horas trabajadas, la tarifa de pago, el número de 
unidades de trabajo a destajo (si se trabaja a destajo), el pago neto, el periodo de 
pago y todas las deducciones que se hayan aplicado.
Para obtener más información sobre las deducciones autorizadas, vaya a 	www.Lni.wa.gov/	
WorkplaceRights	 y haga clic en “Pay Requirements” (requisitos de pago).	
Leyes para permisos de ausencia
Permisos por enfermedad (a partir del 1 de enero de 2018)
La mayoría de los trabajadores obtienen un mínimo de una hora de permiso por 
enfermedad por cada 40 horas trabajadas. Este permiso puede utilizarse a partir del 
90° día natural de empleo. Los empleadores deben proporcionar a los trabajadores 
una declaración que incluya las horas acumuladas, utilizadas y disponibles de 
este permiso al menos una vez al mes. Esta información puede proporcionarse 
en el recibo de pago regular o por medio de una notificación por separado. Los 
trabajadores deben poder transferir para el siguiente año por lo menos 40 horas que 
no hayan utilizado de este permiso. Visite 	www.Lni.wa.gov/SickLeave	 para obtener 	
más información sobre el uso autorizado, los detalles de transferencia y los requisitos.
Ley del Cuidado de la Familia del Estado de Washington: uso de 
permisos de ausencia pagados para cuidar a familiares enfermos
Los trabajadores tienen derecho a utilizar su elección de cualquier permiso 
pagado (por enfermedad, vacaciones, algunos planes de discapacidad a corto 
plazo u otro descanso pagado) para cuidar de:
 ƒ	un niño con una condición de salud que requiera tratamiento o supervisión
 ƒ	un cónyuge, padre, familiar político o abuelo con una condición de salud grave 
o una condición de salud de emergencia
 ƒ	adolescentes de 18 años o más con discapacidades que les impidan cuidarse a sí mismos	
Ley de Licencia Familiar de Washington
Esta ley proporciona un permiso adicional para el embarazo y el nacimiento. 
Cubre a los empleadores con 50 o más trabajadores. Los trabajadores deben haber 
trabajado para un empleador al menos 1,250 horas en los últimos 12 meses para 
tener derecho a este permiso. Para obtener más información sobre los derechos y 
beneficios, visite 	www.Lni.wa.gov/WorkplaceRights/LeaveBenefits	 .	
El permiso de incapacidad por embarazo está cubierto de conformidad con la 
Ley Contra la Discriminación de Washington (Washington State Law Against 
Discrimination, WLAD), y es implementado por la Comisión de Derechos 
Humanos del Estado de Washington: 	www.hum.wa.gov	 o 1-800-233-3247.	
Los trabajadores que reúnan los requisitos pueden hacer cumplir su derecho 
de obtener permisos para cuidar a familiares y por enfermedad conforme 
a la Ley de Permisos Médicos y Familiares (Family and Medical Leave Act, 
FMLA) comunicándose al Departamento del Trabajo de los Estados Unidos en: 
www.dol.gov/whd/fmla	 o al 1-866-487-9243.	
Permiso para víctimas de violencia doméstica, abuso sexual o acoso
Las víctimas y sus familiares tienen derecho a obtener un permiso de ausencia laboral 
razonable para recibir asistencia jurídica o de cumplimiento de la ley, tratamiento médico y 
asesoramiento, así como para reubicarse, reunirse con su abogado o proteger su seguridad.
Permiso para cónyuges de militares durante un despliegue militar
Los cónyuges o las parejas domésticas registradas del personal militar que 
reciba una notificación de despliegue o que tenga una licencia para ausentarse 
del despliegue durante el transcurso de un conflicto militar, pueden obtener un 
permiso de ausencia no pagada por un total de 15 días por despliegue.
Su empleador no puede despedirlo o tomar represalias contra usted por ejercer 
sus derechos o por presentar una queja sobre supuestas violaciones de la Ley del 
Salario Mínimo, que incluye permisos por enfermedad o cualquiera de las leyes 
de permisos protegidos.	
Esquina de adolescentes: información para los 
trabajadores entre 14 y 17 años de edad
 ƒ	La edad mínima para trabajar generalmente es de 14 años, con reglas diferentes 
para trabajadores de 14 a 15 años y de 16 a 17.
 ƒ	Los empleadores deben tener un permiso de trabajo de menores para emplear a 
adolescentes. Este requisito se aplica a los miembros de la familia, excepto en 
granjas familiares.
 ƒ	Los adolescentes no necesitan un permiso de trabajo, pero los padres deben 
firmar el formulario de Autorización de los padres para los empleos de verano. Si 
trabaja durante el año escolar, uno de los padres y un funcionario escolar también 
deben firmar el formulario de Autorización de los padres o la escuela.
 ƒ	Varios trabajos no están permitidos para menores de 18 años porque no son seguros.
 ƒ	La jornada laboral está limitada para los adolescentes, con más restricciones en 
las horas de trabajo durante las semanas de asistencia a clases.	
Descansos para comer y descansos laborales para adolescentes
 ƒ	En el trabajo agrícola, los adolescentes de cualquier edad tienen un descanso 
para comer de 3 0 minutos si trabajan más de cinco horas y un descanso pagado 
de 10 minutos por cada cuatro horas trabajadas.
 ƒ	En todas las demás industrias, los adolescentes de entre 16 y 17 años deben 
tener un descanso para comer de 3 0 minutos si trabajan más de cinco horas y un 
descanso pagado de 10 minutos por cada cuatro horas trabajadas. Deben tener 
un descanso al menos cada tres horas.
 ƒ	Los adolescentes de entre 14 y 15 años deben tener un descanso para comer de 
3 0 minutos antes del final de la cuar ta hora y un descanso pagado de 10 minutos 
por cada dos horas trabajadas.	
Para saber más sobre los adolescentes en el lugar de trabajo:
 ƒ	Visite 	www.Lni.wa.gov/ TeenWorkers	 .	
 ƒ	Llame sin costo al: 1-8 6 6-219-7321.
 ƒ	Envíe su pregunta por correo electrónico a TeenSafet y @Lni.wa.gov.	
Comuníquese a L&I
¿Necesita más información? ¿Tiene preguntas sobre cómo 
presentar una queja de derechos del trabajador?
 En línea: 	www.Lni.wa.gov/ WorkplaceRights	 	
 Llame al:  1-86 6-219-7321, sin costo	 	
 Visite:  	www.Lni.wa.gov/Offices	 	
 Correo electrónico:	 [email protected]	
Sobre los carteles requeridos para el lugar de trabajo
Vaya a 	www.Lni.wa.gov/RequiredPosters	 para conocer más detalles sobre los 	
car teles para el lugar de trabajo de Labor e Industrias (Labor & Industries, L&I) y 
otras agencias gubernamentales.	
La trata de personas es contra la ley
Si necesita ayuda para víctimas, llame al Centro Nacional de Recursos de Trata de 
Personas al 1-8 8 8-373-78 8 8, o a la Oficina de Defensa de Víctimas de Crímenes del Estado 
de Washington al 1-8 0 0-82 2-10 67.	
PUBLICACIÓN F 70 0-074 -9 0 9  [0 8-2017]	
A petición del cliente, hay ayuda disponible para personas que hablan otros idiomas y otros formatos alternos de comunicación para personas con discapacidades. Llame al 1-800-547-8367. Usuarios de dispositivos de telecomunicaciones para sordos (TDD, por su sigla en inglés) llamen al 360 -902-5797. L&I es un empleador con igualdad de oportunidades.	
Comuníquese a L&I	
Esquina de adolescentes: información para los 
trabajadores entre 14 y 17 años de edad
¿Necesita saber cuál es el 
salario mínimo actual?	
Escanee el código 
QR de la izquierda o 
consulte la sección 
“Comuníquese a 
L &I” más adelante.	
Sus derechos como trabajador

Get a Washington all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Washington and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Washington and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for July 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

More Washington Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS

Minimum-Wage.org provides an additional three required and optional Washington labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print and post all required state labor law posters, as well as all of the mandatory federal labor law posters.

Washington Poster Name Poster Type
Required Notice to Employees of Workers' Compensation in the State of Washington Workers Compensation Law
Required Job Safety and Health Law in the State of Washington Job Safety Law
Required Your Rights as a Worker in Washington State General Labor Law Poster
Required Notice to Employees of Self-Insured Employers Workers Compensation Law

List of all 4 Washington labor law posters


Washington Labor Law Poster Sources:

Labor Poster Disclaimer:

While Minimum-Wage.org does our best to keep our list of Washington labor law posters updated and complete, we provide this free resource as-is and cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. If the poster on this page is out-of-date or not working, please send us a message and we will fix it ASAP.

** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/washington/labor-law-posters/365-your-rights-as-a-worker-in-washington-state