Maine Minimum Wage Poster Mandatory
The Minimum Wage Poster is a Maine minimum wage law poster provided for businesses by the Maine Department Of Labor. This is a required poster for all Maine employers, and any business that fails to post this notification may be subject to penalties or fines.
This mandatory poster is a summary of Indiana's minimum wage laws. It outlines what minimum wage is in Maine and how overtime pay works. Information on how to pay tipped employees and in-training employees.
rev. 10/22Minimum Wage For more information, contact: Maine Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Standards 45 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0045 Telephone: 207-623-7900 TTY users call Maine Relay 711. Web site: www.maine.gov/labor/bls Email: [email protected] Maine Law (Title 26 M.R.S.A. § 42-B) requires every employer to place this poster in the workplace where workers can easily see it. Bureau of La bor St andards Labor Laws of the State of Maine provide protection for people who work in Maine. The Maine Department of Labor administers the laws, which all employers must follow. Department representatives inspect workplaces to ensure compliance. Citations and penalties may be issued to employers who do not comply. Minimum Wage is $13.80 per hour effective January 1, 2023Exemptions from Overtime Maine statutes incorporate by reference the salary requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The new minimum salary requirement will be $796.17 per week as of January 1, 2023. Salary is only one factor in determining whether a worker is exempt from overtime under federal or state law . The duties of each worker must be considered as part of this analysis . Failure to adhere to both requirements—meeting the duties test and the weekly salary threshold—will result in violations of both federal or state law or of one jurisdiction or the other depending on the discrepancies in the laws. Statements to Employees Every employer shall give to each employee with the payment of wages a statement clearly showing the date of the pay period , hours worked, total earnings and itemized deductions. Recordkeeping Employers shall keep , for three years , accurate records of hours worked and wages paid to all employees. The Department of Labor enforces state wage and hour laws . Emplo yers with questions about the law may call 207-623-7900 or may visit the department ’s webpage. Minimum W age Guidance www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/minimum_wage_faq.html legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec664.html Overtime Guidance www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/overtime.html legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec664.html *Note: Maine employers may also be covered under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. For more information, contact the U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Office at 603-666-7716. Minimum Wage Under Maine labor laws , any business operating in the state with one employee is automatically covered by state law. This includes all public and private employers regardless of profit or size. Effective January 1, 2023, the minimum wage in Maine is $13.80 per hour. Municipal M inimum Wage Ordinances Employers with employees who work in Bangor and/or Portland or any other municipality that passes a local minimum wage ordinance , may be subject to additional regulations and should check with municipal officials. Service Employee A service employee is someone who regularly receives more than $175 a month in tips. As of January 1, 2023, employers must pay a direct service wage of at least $6.90 per hour. If the employee’ s direct wage combined with earned tips do not average, on a weekly basis, the state required minimum wage, the employer must pay the difference. Overtime Unless specifically exempted , employees must receive overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek at a rate not less than time and one and one-half their regular rate of pay . Employers have the right to allow or deny overtime , but if overtime is worked, it must be paid in accordance with state requirements. Compensatory or “comp ” time cannot be used by private- sector employers , although private-sector employers can allow employees to flex their time within the workweek (but not the pay period if the pay period is longer than a seven day cycle in the workweek). The Maine Department of Labor provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to people with disabilities upon request. This poster is available online at no charge and may be copied: https://www.maine.gov/labor/posters/
More Maine Labor Law Posters 14 PDFS
Minimum-Wage.org provides an additional thirteen required and optional Maine labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print and post all required state labor law posters, as well as all of the mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Maine Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Required Sexual Harassment Poster||Workplace Violence Law|
|Required Workers' Compensation Poster||Workers Compensation Law|
|Required Whistleblower's Protection Act Poster||Whistleblower Law|
|Required Maine Employment Security Act Poster||Unemployment Law|
|Required Minimum Wage Poster||Minimum Wage Law|
Maine Labor Law Poster Sources:
Labor Poster Disclaimer:
While Minimum-Wage.org does our best to keep our list of Maine labor law posters updated and complete, we provide this free resource as-is and cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. If the poster on this page is out-of-date or not working, please send us a message and we will fix it ASAP.