Michigan Workforce Opportunity Wage Act Minimum Wage & Overtime Poster Mandatory
The Workforce Opportunity Wage Act Minimum Wage & Overtime Poster is a Michigan minimum wage law poster provided for businesses by the Michigan Department Of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. This is a required poster for all Michigan employers, and any business that fails to post this notification may be subject to penalties or fines.
This mandatory poster is a summary of Indiana's minimum wage laws. It outlines what minimum wage is in Michigan and how overtime pay works. Information on how to pay tipped employees and in-training employees.
Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity Wage and Hour Division PO Box 30476 Lansing , MI 48909 -7976 GRETCHEN WHITMER REQUIRED POS TER SUSAN CORBIN GOVERNOR GENERAL RE QUIR EMENT S - MINIMU M WAGE and OVERTIME DIRECTOR LEO is an equal opportunity employer/prog ram. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are available, upon request, to individuals with disabilities . www.m ichigan.gov/wagehour • Toll Free 1- 855-4MI-WAGE (1 -855 -464- 9243) WHD 9904 (Revised • 12/2021) Coverage The Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act (IWOWA) , Public Act 337 of 201 8, as amended, covers employers who employ 2 or more employees 16 years of age and older. Minimum Hourly Wage Rate Employees must be paid at least: Effective Date Minimum H ourly Wage R ate Tipped Employee 85%** Rate Minimum Hourly Rate Reported Average Hourly Tips January 1, 2021 $9.65 * $3.6 7 $5.98 $8.20 January 1, 20 22 $9.87* $3.75 $6.12 $8.39 January 1, 2023 $10.10* $3.84 $6.26 $8.59 *An increase in the minimum hou rly wage rate as prescribed in subsection (1) does not take effect if the unemployment rate for this state, as determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, United States Department of Labor, is 8.5% or greater for the calendar year preceding the calendar y ear of the prescribed increase. An increase in the minimum hourly wage r ate as prescribed in subsection (1) that does not take effect pursuant to this subsection takes effect in the first calendar year following a cale ndar year for which the unemployment r ate for this state, as determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Uni ted States Department of Labor, is less than 8.5%. **Minors 16 -17 years of age may be paid 85% of the minimum hourly wage rate. Training Wage A training wage of $4.25 per hour may b e paid to employees 16 to 19 years of ag e for th e first 90 calendar days of employment. Overtime Employees covered by the IWOWA must be paid 1- 1/2 times their regular rate of pay for hours worked over 40 in a workweek. The following are exempt from overtime requi rements: employees exempt from the minim um wage provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 USC 201 to 219 (excep t certain domestic service employees), professional, administrative, or executive employees; elected officials and political appoint ees; employees of amusement and recreati onal est ablishments operating less than 7 months of the year; agricultural employees , and any employee not subject to the minimum wage provisions of the act. Compensatory Time If an employer meets certain condition s, employees may agree to receive compen satory time of 1 -1/2 hours for each hour of overtime worked. The agreement must be voluntary, in writing, and obtained before the compensatory time is earned. All compensatory time earned must be paid to an employee . Accrued compensatory time may not exceed 240 hours. Employers must keep a record of compensatory time earned and paid. Contact the Wage and Hour Division for information on the conditions an employer must meet in order to offer compensatory time off i n lieu of overtime compensation. Equal Pay An employer shall not discriminate on the basis of sex by paying employees a rat e which is less than the rate paid to employees of the opposite sex for equal work on jobs requiring equal skill, effort, and respon sibility performed under similar workin g condit ions - except where payment is pursuant to a seniority system, merit system or system measuring earnings on the basis of quantity or quality of production or a differential other than sex. Enforcement An employee may either file civil action for r ecovery of unpaid minimum wages or overtime, or they may file a complaint with the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity . The department may investigate a complaint and file civil action to collect unpaid wag es or overtime due the employee and al l employ ees of an establishment. Recovery under this act can include unpaid minimum wages or overtime, plus an equal additional amount as liquidated damages, costs, and reasonable attorney fees. A civil fine of $1,000 can be assessed to an employer who do es not pa y minimum wage or overtime.
More Michigan Labor Law Posters 18 PDFS
Minimum-Wage.org provides an additional seventeen required and optional Michigan labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print and post all required state labor law posters, as well as all of the mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Michigan Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Required Michigan Safety & Health Protection on the Job||Workers Compensation Law|
|Required The Michigan Whistleblowers' Protection Act Poster||Whistleblower Law|
|Required Information about Unemployment Benefits (Spanish)||Unemployment Law|
|Required Information about Unemployment Benefits||Unemployment Law|
|Required Workforce Opportunity Wage Act Minimum Wage & Overtime Poster||Minimum Wage Law|
Michigan Labor Law Poster Sources:
Labor Poster Disclaimer:
While Minimum-Wage.org does our best to keep our list of Michigan labor law posters updated and complete, we provide this free resource as-is and cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. If the poster on this page is out-of-date or not working, please send us a message and we will fix it ASAP.