Minnesota:

Minnesota Child Labor Laws Minnesota Child Labor Laws 2021

Child labor laws on Minnesota and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details Minnesota's child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in Minnesota

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are mandatory in Minnesota for minors under 16 during school hours. The certificate must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their ability to work before they are hired.

Age certificates are not required in Minnesota. However, employers of any minor must obtain and keep on record proof of the child's age.

Age certificates can satisfy this requirement as do copies of birth certificates, drivers licenses, and U.S. Department of Justice Immigration and Naturalization Service Employment Eligibility Verification (Forms I-9).

Acquiring a Minnesota Employment Certificate:

In Minnesota, minors can obtain an Employment Certificate through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator. An Employment Certificate will be issued if the minor meets all of the state's criteria for employment.


Age Certification in Minnesota

Age certification is a process through which minors provide proof of their age to a prospective employer, which helps ensure that all child labor laws mandated for their age bracket are followed.

Age certification is not required in Minnesota, but an age certificate is required by law to be provided on request for minors under 18, except not issued to minors under 16 during school hours.

Acquiring an Age Certificate in Minnesota:

In Minnesota, minors can obtain age certification through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator.

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in Minnesota

Minors who are authorized to work in Minnesota are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

Up to 8 hours of work per day, 40 hours per week.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Minnesota has no restrictions on maximum working hours for minors aged 16 and 17.


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 9 p.m. to 7 a.m

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. before school day (11:30 p.m. to 4:30 a.m. with written parental permission).

Special Child Labor Laws in Minnesota

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in Minnesota, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get a Minnesota all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Minnesota and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Minnesota and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for February 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to Minnesota Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/minnesota/child-labor-laws