Minnesota Payday Frequency Laws 2021
Weekly PaydayNot Permitted
Biweekly PaydayNot Permitted
How Frequently Must Minnesota Employers Pay Employees?
Like Minnesota, the majority of states have labor law regulations that require employers to pay employees on regularly scheduled paydays with a certain minimum frequency.
Minnesota employers are required to pay most hourly employees via a regular payday at least semimonthly or monthly.
Under Minnesota statute, employers are required to pay their employees for all wages due at least once every 31 days. Employees engaged in transitory employment must be paid at intervals of not more than 15 days. Employees of “public service corporations doing business within this state” are required to be paid at least semimonthly the wages earned by them to within 15 days of the date of such payment, unless prevented by inevitable casualty.
Exemptions from Payday Laws
Under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), payday laws (and many other labor laws) were designed especially to protect hourly employees, rather than highly-compensated salaried employees. Therefore, payday laws often exempt or have looser requirements for employees considered to be "executives, professionals, or administrative employees". Outside salespeople, who are often paid on commission, are also often exempt from payday laws.
Other Payday Laws
In addition to regulating payday frequency, Minnesota has other labor laws regulating things such as payroll wage garnishment, payment methods (suh as check and direct deposit), vacation pay, and final payroll following termination.