Oregon:

Oregon Child Labor Laws Oregon Child Labor Laws 2019

Child labor laws on Oregon and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details Oregon's child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in Oregon

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are not required in order for minors to work under Oregon law. Employers are still responsible for ensuring that they comply with all Oregon child labor restrictions and regulations.

In Oregon, minors aged 14?17 are not required to obtain work permits. Instead, employers are required to apply for annual certificates to employ these minors from the state Department of Labor.


Age Certification in Oregon

While some states require working minors to provide their employers with an age certification document, this is not required for minors who wish to work in Oregon. Employers are expected to identify minors whom they employ and ensure that their employment is in compliance with all Federal and state child labor restrictions.

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in Oregon

Minors who are authorized to work in Oregon are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

8 hours of work per day, 40 per week, 6 days out of the week are permitted when school is off. During a school week, 3 hours of work are permitted per day and up to 18 hours per week.

Students of 14 and 15 enrolled in approved Work Experience and Career Exploration programs may work during school hours up to 3 hours on a school day and 23 hours in a schoolweek.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

44 hours of work per week are allowed (emergency overtime is allowed with a permit).


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 7 p.m. (9 p.m. June 1 through Labor Day) to 7 a.m

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Oregon has no restrictions on nightwork for minors aged 16 and 17.

Special Child Labor Laws in Oregon

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in Oregon, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get an Oregon all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Oregon and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Oregon and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for September 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to Oregon Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/oregon/child-labor-laws