Oregon Required Workday Break & Meal Periods 2023
Workday Meal Periods:
Workday Rest Periods:
Oregon has extensive regulations providing for mandatory break periods during the workday, including both mandatory meal / lunch periods and one or more shorter rest periods. This page provides details about Oregon's meal and rest period requirements.
Mandatory Workday Lunch / Meal Breaks in Oregon
Oregon requires all employees be allowed a ½ hour meal period, with relief from all duties, for each work period of 6 to 8 hours. The meal period should be between the 2nd and 5th hour of work for work periods of 7 hours or less, and between the 3rd and 6th hour for work periods over 7 hours.
A break period of less than ½ hour but not less than 20 minutes, with pay, with relief from all duties, is allowed where the employer can show that such a paid meal period is industry practice or custom.
Where the employer can show that the nature of work prevents relief from all duty, an eating period with pay while on duty must be allowed for each work period of 6 to 8 hours.
Which employees are covered by Oregon's meal period regulations?
Oregon's meal period requirements are applicable to every employer in the state, except employees who are covered by collective bargaining agreement.
Additional Meal Period Information
In absence of regularly scheduled meal periods, it is sufficient compliance when the employer can show that the employee has, in fact, received the time specified. This is permitted only where the employer can show that the nature of their work prevents the employer from establishing and maintaining a regularly scheduled meal period.
Note: Oregon Has Special Regulations for Minor Employees
In addition to a general regulation requiring meal periods for employees, Oregon has special regulations that require meal periods for minors under age 18. These regulations, which require more frequent and / or longer meal / break periods, take precedence over the general regulations for minor employees. Learn more about Oregon's child labor regulations here.
Mandatory Workday Rest Periods in Oregon
In Oregon, a paid 10-minute rest period is required for each 4 hours worked (or major fraction thereof). If possible, this rest period should be in the middle of each work period.
Which employees are covered by Oregon's rest period regulations?
Oregon's rest period laws are applicable to every employer, except employees who are covered by collective bargaining agreement.
Additional Rest Period Information
The rest period must be in addition to the usual meal period and taken separately. It is not to be added to the usual meal period, or deducted from beginning or end of a work period to reduce overall length of the total work period.
In the absence of regularly scheduled rest periods, it is sufficient compliance when the employer can show that the employee has, in fact, received the time specified. This is permitted only where employer can show that ordinary nature of the work prevents the employer from establishing and maintaining a regularly scheduled rest period.
A rest period is not required for employees age 18 or older who work alone in a retail or service establishment serving the general public and who work less than 5 hours in a period of 16 continuous hours.