Connecticut:

Connecticut Child Labor Laws Connecticut Child Labor Laws 2019

Child labor laws on Connecticut and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details Connecticut's child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in Connecticut

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are mandatory in Connecticut for minors under 16. The certificate must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their ability to work before they are hired.

Acquiring a Connecticut Employment Certificate:

In Connecticut, minors can obtain an Employment Certificate both through the Connecticut Department of Labor and through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator. An Employment Certificate will be issued if the minor meets all of the state's criteria for employment.


Age Certification in Connecticut

While some states require working minors to provide their employers with an age certification document, this is not required for minors who wish to work in Connecticut. Employers are expected to identify minors whom they employ and ensure that their employment is in compliance with all Federal and state child labor restrictions.

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in Connecticut

Minors who are authorized to work in Connecticut are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

8 hours of work per day, 40 per week, up to 6 days per week are permitted in mercantile during periods of school vacation of 5 days or more

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

For students enrolled in and not graduated from a secondary institution: 8 hours of work per day, 48 hours per week, up to 6 days per week are permitted on non-school weeks. During school weeks: 6 hours of work are permitted per day (8 on Friday, Saturday and Sunday), 32 hours per week 32 in restaurant, recreational, amusement, theater, manufacturing, mechanical, retail, hairdressing, bowling alley, pool hall, or photography gallery establishments.

For minors not enrolled in and not graduated from a secondary institution:, 8 hours of work per day, 48 hours per week, up to 6days per week are permitted in retail/mercantile establishments.

9 hours per day, 48 hours per week, up to 6 days per week are permitted in restaurant, manufacturing, mechanical, recreation, amusement and theater establishments.


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 7 p.m. (9 p.m. July 1 to the first Monday in September) to 7 a.m.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 11 p.m. (midnight if school vacation, not prior to a school day, or not attending school) to 6 a.m. in restaurants, recreational, amusement and theater establishments. 10 p.m. (11 p.m. if school vacation, not prior to a school day, or not attending school; midnight in a supermarket of 3,500 square feet or more when no school the next day) to 6 a.m. in manufacturing, mechanical and retail establishments. 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. in hairdressing, bowling alley, pool hall, or photography gallery establishments.

Special Child Labor Laws in Connecticut

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in Connecticut, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get a Connecticut all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Connecticut and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Connecticut and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for March 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to Connecticut Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/connecticut/child-labor-laws