Kansas:

Kansas Child Labor Laws Kansas Child Labor Laws 2021

Child labor laws on Kansas and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details Kansas' child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in Kansas

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are not required in order for minors to work under Kansas law. Employers are still responsible for ensuring that they comply with all Kansas child labor restrictions and regulations.


Age Certification in Kansas

While some states require working minors to provide their employers with an age certification document, this is not required for minors who wish to work in Kansas. Employers are expected to identify minors whom they employ and ensure that their employment is in compliance with all Federal and state child labor restrictions.

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in Kansas

Minors who are authorized to work in Kansas are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

Up to 8 hours work per day, 40 hours per week.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Kansas has no restrictions on maximum working hours for minors aged 16 and 17.


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 10 p.m. before school day to 7 a.m.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Kansas has no restrictions on nightwork for minors aged 16 and 17.

Special Child Labor Laws in Kansas

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in Kansas, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get a Kansas all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Kansas and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Kansas and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for August 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to Kansas Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/kansas/child-labor-laws