New Jersey:

New Jersey Child Labor Laws New Jersey Child Labor Laws 2019

Child labor laws on New Jersey and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details New Jersey's child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in New Jersey

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are mandatory in New Jersey for minors under 18. The certificate must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their ability to work before they are hired.

Acquiring a New Jersey Employment Certificate:

In New Jersey, minors can obtain an Employment Certificate both through the New Jersey Department of Labor and through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator. An Employment Certificate will be issued if the minor meets all of the state's criteria for employment.


Age Certification in New Jersey

Age certification is a process through which minors provide proof of their age to a prospective employer, which helps ensure that all child labor laws mandated for their age bracket are followed.

Age certification is not required in New Jersey, but an age certificate is required by law to be provided on request for minors 18 to 21.

Acquiring an Age Certificate in New Jersey:

In New Jersey, minors can obtain age certification both through the New Jersey Department of Labor and through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator.

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in New Jersey

Minors who are authorized to work in New Jersey are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

Maximum hours/days when school is not in session: 8 hours daily / 40 hours weekly/ 6 days weekly.

Maximum hours/days when school is in session: 3 hours daily/ 18 hours weekly.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

8 hours of work per day, 40 hours per week, 6 days out of the week are permitted.


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 7 p.m. (9 p.m. from last day of school through Labor Day) to 7 a.m.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. during school term, with specified variations

Special Child Labor Laws in New Jersey

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in New Jersey, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get a New Jersey all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory New Jersey and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all New Jersey and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for February 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to New Jersey Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/new-jersey/child-labor-laws