North Carolina:

North Carolina Child Labor Laws North Carolina Child Labor Laws 2019

Child labor laws on North Carolina and <a href="/federal/child-labor-laws">Federal</a> levels exist to prevent the exploitation of minors for labor, and ensure that education is prioritized over work. Limitations on child labor vary by age, and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be done, maximum hours that may be worked, and limitations on late or overnight work.

Regulation of child labor may include the use of Employment Certificates issued by the minor's school or the state Labor Department, and/or an Age Certification document that verifies the minor's age for work purposes. This page details North Carolina's child labor law regulations.

Mandatory Employment & Age Certification for Minors

Employment Certificates in North Carolina

Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are mandatory in North Carolina for minors under 18. The certificate must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their ability to work before they are hired.

In North Carolina, employment certificates are issued by either the Department of Labor or the County Director of Social Services.

Acquiring a North Carolina Employment Certificate:

In North Carolina, minors can obtain an Employment Certificate both through the North Carolina Department of Labor and through their school, generally by contacting a guidance counselor or school administrator. An Employment Certificate will be issued if the minor meets all of the state's criteria for employment.


Age Certification in North Carolina

While some states require working minors to provide their employers with an age certification document, this is not required for minors who wish to work in North Carolina. Employers are expected to identify minors whom they employ and ensure that their employment is in compliance with all Federal and state child labor restrictions.

Minor Working Hour Restrictions in North Carolina

Minors who are authorized to work in North Carolina are subject to restrictions on when they can work, and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions in effect depend on the age of the minor, and are designed to ensure that work does not interfere with the minor's schooling.


Maximum Hours of Work for Minors

Working hour restrictions limit how many hours a minor may work per day, and per week.

For Minors Under 16:

8 hours of work per day and 40 per week are permitted when school is off. During a school week, 3 hours of work are permitted per day and up to 18 hours per week.

Students of 14 and 15 enrolled in approved Work Experience and Career Exploration programs may work during school hours up to 3 hours on a school day and 23 hours in a schoolweek.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

North Carolina has no restrictions on maximum working hours for minors aged 16 and 17.


Nightwork Restrictions for Minors

Nightwork restrictions set limits on how late a minor can legally work.

For Minors Under 16:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 7 p.m. (9 p.m. during summer vacation) to 7 a.m.

For Minors Ages 16 and 17:

Work is prohibited during these hours: 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. before school day while school is in session. Not applicable with written permission from both parent and school.

Special Child Labor Laws in North Carolina

In addition to laws requiring work certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting), and the entertainment industry (including child actors, models, and performers).

To learn about these special child labor laws in North Carolina, see the following pages.

On a Federal level, child labor is regulated under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may additionally be subject to special labor law regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break periods while working, and more.


Get a North Carolina all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory North Carolina and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all North Carolina and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for May 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to North Carolina Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/north-carolina/child-labor-laws