California:

Richmond Minimum Wage Laws Richmond, California Local Minimum Wage for 2017, 2018

While California's state minimum wage is $11.00 per hour, Richmond has set its own, higher minimum wage rate that applies to employees of all companies who work within Richmond. A minimum wage increase is currently scheduled in Richmond, but until the effective date of 1/1/2019 the state minimum wage rate of $11.00 will apply.


Current Minimum Wage
$13.41 / hour
Effective 1/1/2018
Future Minimum Wage
$15.00 / hour
Effective 1/1/2019
Comparison to State Wage
+$2.41 / hour

Because Richmond has a higher minimum wage rate than the one set by California or the Federal government, the higher local minimum wage rate takes precedence and must be paid to all employees covered by the local minimum wage regulation.

Keep in mind that California and the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act both define various minimum wage exemptions and other labor laws that may apply to employees in Richmond. You can find more information about California's minimum wage and labor laws on this site.

Richmond Minimum Wage Increase

Richmond has a scheduled increase to the minimum wage from $13.41 to $15.00 per hour, which will take effect on January 1st, 2019. The increase will raise Richmond's minimum wage by $1.59 per hour.

Richmond Minimum Wage Rates 2018 Other Local Minimum Wage Rates in California

In addition to Richmond, there are other localities in California that have passed municipal minimum wage legislation. The following is a table of other California localities with established minimum wage laws.

Locality Applies To Minimum Wage Comparison to State
Berkeley All employees $13.25 +$2.25
Cupertino All employees $13.50 +$2.50
El Cerrito All employees $13.60 +$2.60
Emeryville 55 or less employees $14.00 +$3.00
  56 or more employees $15.20 +$4.20
Los Altos All employees $13.50 +$2.50
Los Angeles Employers with 25 or fewer Employees or Non-Profit Corporations with 26 or more Employees with approval to pay a deferred rate $12.00 +$1.00
  Employers with 26 or more Employees $13.25 +$2.25
Los Angeles -unincorporated county Employers with 25 or fewer Employees $12.00 +$1.00
  Employers with 26 or more Employees $13.25 +$2.25
Malibu All employees $12.00 +$1.00
Milpitas All employees $12.00 +$1.00
Mountain View All employees $15.00 +$4.00
Oakland All employees $13.23 +$2.23
Palo Alto All employees $13.50 +$2.50
Pasadena 25 or less employees $12.00 +$1.00
  26 or more employees $13.25 +$2.25
San Diego All employees $11.50 +$0.50
San Francisco All employees $14.00 +$3.00
San Jose All employees $13.50 +$2.50
San Leandro All employees $12.00 +$1.00
San Mateo All employees $13.50 +$2.50
Santa Clara All employees $13.00 +$2.00
Santa Monica 25 or less employees $12.00 +$1.00
  26 or more employees $13.25 +$2.25
Sunnyvale All employees $15.00 +$4.00

Get a California all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory California and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all California and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for December 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

← Back to California Minimum Wage
** This Document Provided By Minimum-Wage.org **
Source: http://www.minimum-wage.org/california/richmond-minimum-wage