Hawaii Disability Compensation Law Poster Mandatory
The Disability Compensation Law is a Hawaii workers compensation law poster provided for businesses by the Hawaii Department Of Labor and Industrial Relations. This is a required poster for all Hawaii employers, and any business that fails to post this notification may be subject to penalties or fines.
This mandatory poster is a summary of Hawaii's Disability Compensation law. It includes sections about workers' compensation and disability insurance. Employees have the right to several benefits within a certain eligibility window. Health care is also included in some circumstances. Contact information is included as well.
Workers' Compensation - You have the right to receive workers' compensation benefits and medical care if you suffer a work- related injury. You must report the date, time and circumstance of your injury immediately to your employer or supervisor. Give the name of the insurer to your doctor so that your doctor will know where to send the physician's report. If your employer does not file a report of the injury, you may file a written claim with the Disability Compensation Division. You do not pay for the premium cost; your employer pays the entire amount. You are entitled to all required medical, surgical and hospital services and supplies including medication; weekly benefits from the fourth day of disability to replace wage loss, representing 66 2/3% of your average weekly wage but not more than the maximum weekly benefit amount annually set by the Department; additional benefits if the injury results in permanent disability or disfigurement; vocational rehabilitation, if appropriate; funeral and burial expenses if the work injury results in death; and additional weekly benefits to the surviving spouse and other dependents. Temporary Disability Insurance - You have the right to file a claim for temporary disability insurance benefits within 90 days from the date of disability if you suffer a disabling non-work-related injury/illness or inability to work because of your pregnancy. Your employer or insurance carrier should furnish you with a TDI-45 claim form or some other authorized claim form. You may receive TDI benefits if a physician properly certifies your inability to work. Generally, you must have worked for an employer in Hawaii at least two weeks before your disability. During the last 52 weeks, you must have: worked for at least 14 weeks; been paid for at least 20 hours per week; and earned at least $400. After a 7 consecutive day waiting period, you will be paid 58% of your average weekly wage, not to exceed the maximum in the TDI law. Your employer may have an "equivalent" plan approved by the Department, which may provide different benefits. You should ask your employer for details if they have an "equivalent" plan. You may be required by your employer to share in the premium cost. Your share cannot be more than one-half of the cost and should not exceed .5% of your weekly wages. Your employer pays the remaining portion exceeding the prescribed limitation. If you are not eligible for benefits (see second paragraph above), your employer cannot deduct any contributions from you to share in the premium cost. Prepaid Health Care - You have the right to enroll in your employer's prepaid health care insurance plan after 4 consecutive weeks of employment where you have worked at least 20 hours each week. The Department of Labor & Industrial Relations must approve the health care plan and include insurance coverage for hospital, surgical, medical, diagnostic and maternity medical care. You should claim benefits under this program if a non-work-related injury or illness requires medical care. Give your doctor or hospital the name of your employer's health care contractor and the plan name. If you are required to share in the premium cost for your coverage, your share cannot be more than 1.5% of your monthly wages or one-half the premium cost (whichever is less). Your employer pays the balance. Disability Compensation Division: Oahu 586-9161 (Workers' Compensation) 586-9188 (Temporary Disability Insurance and Prepaid Health Care) Hilo 974-6464 Kona 322-4808 Maui . 243-5322 Kauai 274-3351 This notice provides general background information on labor laws administered and enforced by DLIR's Disability Compensation Division and is not intended to serve as a substitute for legal counsel. For specific legal advice on individual situations, please consult an attorney. Anne E. Eustaquio, Director Department of Labor and Industrial Relations *You may satisfy Hawaii Labor Laws’ posting requirements by posting our official labor law poster. For more information: http://labor.hawaii.gov/labor-law-poster/ Equal Opportunity Employer/Program Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TDD/TTY Dial 711 then ask for (808) 586-8866. Revised 09/21/2020
More Hawaii Labor Law Posters 16 PDFS
Minimum-Wage.org provides an additional fifteen required and optional Hawaii labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print and post all required state labor law posters, as well as all of the mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Hawaii Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Required Disability Compensation Law||Workers Compensation Law|
|Required Unemployment Insurance Law||Unemployment Law|
|Required Required Notice to Dislocated Workers/Plant Closings||Miscellaneous Law|
|Required Occupational Safety & Health Laws||Job Safety Law|
|Required Human Trafficking Poster||Human Trafficking Law|
Hawaii Labor Law Poster Sources:
Labor Poster Disclaimer:
While Minimum-Wage.org does our best to keep our list of Hawaii labor law posters updated and complete, we provide this free resource as-is and cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. If the poster on this page is out-of-date or not working, please send us a message and we will fix it ASAP.